Fresh Faces Join High Performance Squad

David Tease
June 14, 2019

Six fresh faces will join the GolfNSW HP Squad for 2019.

Entering the Tier One Program are Kelsey Bennett of Mollymook, James Conran from Orange, and Sydney’s Christopher Fan, while Murwillumbah’s Lucas Higgins comes in as a regionally based athlete.

Sophie Yip and Dubbo’s Lachlan Jones will also join the squad as Tier Two development players.

Higgins Lucas HR 2019050720190507 int Series dayt one arvo389
Lucas Higgins in action during the recent Australian Interstate Teams Matches

Bennett, Conran, Higgins and Yip all played integral roles for NSW in the recent Australian Interstate Teams Championships, while Jones was a member of the NSW team which landed the Australian Boys Teams title on the Gold Coast in April.

Fan has performed exceptionally well in nationally-ranked competitions over the last couple of seasons, including winning the 72 hole Port Phillip Amateur in Victoria last December. He has also been impressive for his home club, Avondale, in Metropolitan Major Pennant.

Bennett Kelsey HR 20190508Interstate Day Two047
Kelsey Bennet was a key member of the GolfNSW Women’s team which defended their Australian Interstate Teams Crown at Royal Hobart Golf Club in May.

Golf NSW High-Performance Manager Khan Pullen was thrilled to announce the new members of the squad.

“All of the athletes have been performing well at the State, and National level, and I am looking forward to working with them and their support teams,” Mr Pullen said.

With access to the resources available through the Golf NSW HP Program, I am confident they will continue to develop the skills required to take their game to the highest level.”

The 2019 GolfNSW HP Squad is:

Tier One:
Blake Windred
Nathan Barbieri
Josh Armstrong
Jordie Garner
Josh Gadd
James Conran
Chris Fan
Lucas Higgins
Doey Choi
Grace Kim
Steph Kyriacou
Kelsey Bennett
Jye Pickin

Tier Two:
Kara Williams
Monica Johnson
Belinda Ji
June Song
Sophie Yip
Harrison Crowe
Lachlan Jones

Our Partners