The ACT-Monaro District Golf Association has hosted the Illawarra Region at Yowani Country Club for the David Woods Trophy.

On Saturday, September 10th, the teams played a 4BBB Matchplay with Illawarra winning 3 ½ to 2 ½.

In the Juniors, ACT Monaro representatives Nathan White & Callan Robertson squared their match with Illawarra’s Andrew Brown & Sam Cascio, while Coopar Nianios & Aksel Thomsen (Illawarra) won their match 3&1 against Noah Bricknell & Henry Kanis (ACT).

In the Open matches, Illawarra’s Tom Holz & Ethan Harvey defeated Jarred Hunt & Angelo Bourandains, 1 Up. ACT’s John Fitzgerald & Scott Nolan squared with Anthony Brunero & Jason Kast, along with Josh Reid & James Bull (ACT) also squaring with Illawarra’s Jason Ward & Brendan Dodds. Mark Johnson & Nathan Whiteman went down to the ACT Monaro pairing of Harry Smith & Robbie Furner, 2 Down.

On Sunday, the teams played Singles Matchplay to decide on the 2022 trophy.

Juniors Andrew Brown (Illawarra) defeated Nathan White (ACT), 2&1. Sam Cascio won against Callan Robertson, 4&2. Noah Bricknell (ACT) and Aksel Thomsen halved their match and Coopar Nianios beat Henry Kanis, 5&4.

It was a little move even in the Open matches with 4 matches a piece.

Illawarra’s Tom Holz defeated Jarred Hunt, 2&1. Ethan Harvey ran away with his match defeating ACT’s Robbie Furner, 6&5. Jason Ward went down to John Fitzgerald (ACT), 2&1. Brendan Dodds won his match against Angelo Bourandains, 2&1. Scott Nolan (ACT) defeated Illawarra’s Jason Kast, 1up. Harry Smith (ACT) defeated Anthony Brunero and Josh Reid (ACT) defeated Nathan Whiteman, 4&3 apiece. Mark Johnson won 2&1 against James Bull from ACT.

With the Juniors and the Open combined, the 4BBB was won by Illawarra 7 ½ to 4 ½ and the overall weekend result being 11 to 7.

Congratulations to both teams, all matches were played in great spirit.
Thank you to the ACT-Monaro District Golf Association and Yowani Country Club for their hospitality.