Finalists Named For Golf NSW Volunteer of the Year Award

David Tease
October 4, 2023

Six outstanding individuals from across the State have been named as finalists for the Golf NSW Volunteer of the Year honour at the 2023 NSW Golf Industry Awards.

The six finalists are Jim Byrnes of St Michael’s Golf Club, Narelle Kriz of Cobar GC & the Western District Golf Association (DGA), Mick Lamaro of Shelly Beach and the Central Coast DGA, Ann Parkinson of Kurri Golf Club, Scott Oborn of Blayney Golf Club, and Tony Cruise of Castle Hill Country Club.

Jim Byrnes has been a stalwart of the St. Michael’s club representative scene for many years as a team manager, organiser and benefactor. A one-time director of the Little Bay Club, Mr. Byrnes also readily volunteered time to support national events at the Club, including this year’s Australian Amateur and the Interstate Teams Championship.

Narelle Kriz: referred to fondly as the backbone of the Cobar Club & Western District, Narelle has been instrumental in the Club receiving grants for several initiatives. She is always available as a helper on golf days and a driving force when introducing beginners to the game.

Mick Lamaro: Hardworking and dedicated, Mick is a passionate advocate for junior golf on the Central Coast. He coordinates several initiatives, including junior golf pathways, JNJG programs, junior events, and pennant competitions like the Encourage Shield and inter-district rep sides. Mick leads by example, driving clubs and their boards to get behind the junior golf initiatives.

Anne Parkinson: A tireless and committed worker who has carried out her duties efficiently, Anne volunteers to organise many club events, Open events and charity days, which all run smoothly due to her diligence.

Anne also dedicates herself to several tasks around the Club, including Saturday lunch duties. She has also started a weekly gardening group to assist with the course beautification program. Anne worked closely with the club professional to promote golf in the wider community to gain new lady members.

Scott Oborn: Scott has been on the committee of the Blayney Golf Club for 30 years and has been treasurer for 26 of those. He has been a calm hand, keeping the club doors open for many years.

Looking after the Club’s financials is not the only task Scott puts his heart and soul into. Scott handles the beer system, Poker Machines, gas cylinders, online social golf bookings, clubhouse supplies, memberships, POS register, courtesy bus inspections, and cool room stock. He even arranges event sponsorship and runs several successful club functions.

Tony Cruise: The Club Captain at Castle Hill Country Golf Club for more than ten years, he works over & above in his role. Tony has supported golfers with an understanding of the rules of golf and dedicates many hours a week to course care. He also leads a working bee every Monday to ensure the Course is immaculate. 

Tony is on the Board Course & Match Committee. He provides advice & support to the women’s Captain. Tony has a passion for golf & the Club that is matched by very few.

The awards, to be held at the Crown Barangaroo on Monday, November 6th, will see the sport’s peak state bodies, Golf NSW, the PGA of Australia, Golf Management Australia – NSW (GMA-NSW), the NSW Golf Course Superintendents Association (NSWGCSA), and Jack Newton Junior Golf (JNJG), will come together to celebrate our State’s most dedicated volunteers, outstanding staff, and industry-leading clubs.

Tickets to the night are available online HERE

Our Partners