NSW Sand Greens Ends In A Thriller

Graeme Phillipson
October 16, 2022

Griffith’s Josh Stapleton stormed home at Binalong Golf Club to take the 2022 NSW Sand Greens Championships by one stroke to overnight leader Nathan Schneider (Thurgoona).  After double bogeys on the 5th and 7th hole, the Championship looked all but over for Stapleton, however, he then came home with 10 pars and birdie whilst Schneider made bogey at the 17th and then three putted the 18th green for a double bogey.

The Junior Championship was won by Warren’s Joey Walker, ahead of Randwick’s Kai Todd and Dunedoo’s Ethan Russell.

In the NSW Veteran’s Sand Greens Championship, Brad Hurley (Condobolin) was a comfortable winner, ahead of Dubbo’s Greg Dunn.

Binalong proved that it was more than capable of hosting a state championship event, with the course and club hospitality receiving great reviews despite the recent heavy rains.


Championship Winner
– John Lungsdin Memorial Trophy
Joshua StapletonGriffith 71, 73 = 144 (+4)
Runner-UpNathan SchneiderThurgoona67, 78 = 145 (+5)
36 Hole Nett WinnerBrenden PotburyDunedoo70, 67 = 137 (-3)
36 Hole Nett runner-UpRon KingBinalong67, 71 138 (-2)
Rd1 ScratchMatt NagaiyaFairbairn 73 (+3)
Rd1 NettJohn LeeBinalong67 (-3)
Rd2 ScratchMark HoltYass72 (+2)
Rd2 NettGed FulwoodWentworth67 (-3) c/b
Junior ChampionshipJoey WalkerWarren84, 82 = 166 (+26)
Teams Event WinnersChris Glover
John Lee
Andrew Hore

Our Partners