April 17, 2024

Bennett, Crowe Secure World Amateur Team Selection

Kelsey Bennett and Harrison Crowe will represent Australia in the 2022 World Amateur Teams Championship after the teams were announced today.

Joining Bennett will be West Australians Kirsten Rudgeley and Maddison Hinson-Tolchard to compete for the Espirito Santo Trophy, while Crowe will team up with another two sandgropers, Connor McKinney and Hayden Hopewell, to compete for the Eisenhower Trophy.

To be held in France from August 24-27 (women) and August 31 – September 3 (Men), the teams will be captained by seven-time major champion Karrie Webb and one of the most revered coaches in the country, Ritchie Smith, the mastermind behind Minjee Lee, Hannah Green and Min Woo Lee.

Le Golf National – the 2018 Ryder Cup venue and where the 2024 Olympic Games will be played – and Le Golf de Saint-Nom-la-Bretèche, home of the prestigious Trophee Lancomme tournament, will be the venues as the representatives look to add another chapter to Australia’s rich history in the team events.

Player Profiles:

Harrison Crowe
Kelsey Bennett

“Kelsey’s performance to make the quarter-finals of last week’s British Amateur, and her runner’s up finish in the 2021 womens Asia Pacific Am were outstanding, and proof that her game is up there with the best amateurs i the world,” Golf NSW High-Performance Manager, Khan Pullen said.

Harrison had one of the best Australian Summers of Golf for an amateur in many years. Wins against some of our nation’s brightest up-and-coming talent – benchmarked by his win in the NSW Open prove what a future in the sport he has,” Pullen added.

Both championships feature the world’s leading amateurs and are played over 72 holes of stroke play.

The most recent of Australia’s four Eisenhower Trophy wins came in 2016 when Cameron Davis, Harrison Endycott and Curtis Luck dominated in Mexico, while Australia has lifted the Espirito Santo Trophy three times with Minjee Lee, Su Oh and Shelly Shin the last to do so in Japan in 2014.

Our Partners