September 18, 2021
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
SAND GREENS 4BBB: Runaway leaders take Title by two

SAND GREENS 4BBB: Runaway leaders take Title by two

Jon Izzard (Uralla) and Tim Murray (Armidale) shot two over par today to go with their five under yesterday to record a two shot victory over Kyle Goodwin (Walcha) and Tim Stackman (Tamworth).  Defending Champions Brad Hurley (Condobolin) and Paul Besgrove (Dunedoo) finished in third position.

In the nett, the pairing of local Angus Crawford and Tom Carberry (Narrabri) took out the 36 hole prize after recording rounds of 42 and 45 stableford points.  They beat Greg Dunn and Anthony Beetson (Dubbo) by one stroke.

The sand greens caravan moves on to Nyngan for the singles championship in October and then to Dunedoo next year for the Fourball.

20210320 2400 Sand Green 4bbb supplied 01
The action is intense at the sand green fourball championship

DAY ONE WRAP: Weather gods give Walcha a miss

The weather gods have given Walcha a miss, sparing the 120 competitors at the NSW sand Greens Fourball Championship from the tempest battering the eastern seaboard.

In the Championship, Uralla’s Jon Izzard and Armidale’s Tim Murray are the runaway leaders after carding an excellent five under par.  Murray’s five birdies were the highlight.

The pair lead by seven shots from three teams; Michael Medway (Brighton Lakes) / Graeme Phillipson (Manildra), defending Champions Brad Hurley (Condobolin) / Paul Besgrove (Dunedoo) and local Kyle Goodwin / Tamworth’s Tim Stackman.

In the Nett event, local Robert Denniss / Warren Kimber (Eidsvold) lead by three shots after carding a handy after shooting 47 points.. Medway and Phillipson hold second place.