Golf NSW Board Nominations Now Open

David Tease
September 9, 2020

Nominations are now open for the position of Director on the Golf NSW Board for 2020/21.

The current Golf NSW Board Members are Michael Medway (Chair), Meralyn Fage (Deputy Chair), Gemma Dooley (Chair Finance), Frank Gal, Les Wallace, Lyn Cooper, Grant Harding, Sally Kirkright, Peter Mitchell and Andrew Fraser (appointed).

Director’s Peter Mitchell and Gemma Dooley will have their term of office end at the conclusion of the 2020 AGM and are not eligible for re-election, as they have both completed their maximum of three consecutive two-year terms.

Director’s Meralyn Fage, Frank Gal, Les Wallace, Lyn Cooper and Grant Harding will have their term of office end at the conclusion of the 2020 AGM and are eligible for re-election.

Under the terms of the Constitution of Golf NSW, the Board of Golf NSW must consist of nine (9) Directors; three male, three female and three of either gender. At least one female and one male Director must reside in the Country and at least one female and one male Director must reside in the Sydney metropolitan area.  The current Directors – Sally Kirkright and Michael Medway both reside in the metropolitan area.

Directors of Golf NSW have previously been elected on a rotational basis for terms of 2 years.  A Special Resolution was passed at the 2019 Annual General Meeting, which will see the term increased in steps to terms of 3 years.  Changes to Rule 38 will see all Directors having a 3 year term by 2023, with there being a transition occurring until that time. 

Three of the seven positions for election this year will be the first to be allocated 3-year terms, and the remaining 4 positions will be allocated 2 year terms.  The Elected Directors term of office commences at the conclusion of the relevant Annual General Meeting and ceases at the conclusion of the second (or third) Annual General Meeting following their election.  

A Director can seek re-election, however, a Director may not serve for more than 2 consecutive terms totalling 6 years.

Voting for Directors will be the responsibility of Member Clubs and Districts.

Golf NSW will announce the 2020/2021 Directors at the AGM to be held on November 17, 2020. 

The Board generally meets between six and eight times per year, with all expenses to attend the meetings reimbursed. 

Nominations close 4:00pm (AEST) Thursday, 8th October 2020.

Please find below a link to Golf NSW Election Notices which has further information about the nomination process, about Golf NSW and a link to the online Nomination Form.  

Information Pack for prospective directors

If you require any further information, please don’t hesitate to contact Golf NSW on 9505 9105 or email:

Our Partners