September 21, 2021

NSW Regional Open Series

Murray Region Open:TBA
Sth Coast Open: 26-28 Sep
Queanbeyan Open: 29 Sep -1 Oct
Dubbo Open: 22-24 Oct
Tweed Open: 15-17 Nov
Nth Coast Open: 13-14 Dec

Murray Downs
Tweed Heads
Coffs Harbour

NSW Regional Open Series

The NSW Regional Open Series is a series of six 36-hole tournaments across the State which will lead into the 2022 NSW Open Championship.

The series kicks off in early September with the Murray Open, hosted at the impressive Murray Downs Golf & Country Club, eventually culminating in mid-December with the time-honoured Geoff King Motors North Coast Open at Coffs Harbour Golf Club.

With a $50,000 purse on offer at each (professionals only), the top four placegetters (professional or amateur) at each tournament will also secure a start in the 2022 Golf Challenge NSW Open being played at the renowned Concord Golf Club in March 2022.

Rookie Professional Josh Armstrong was one player who took advantage of this year’s NSW Regional Open Series, using his victory in February’s Murray Region Open to jump-start his career on the ISPS Handa PGA Tour of Australasia.

Amateurs can enter via the relevant links below.

With positions in the field quite limited, amateur order-of-entry will be determined by GA handicap.  Golf NSW will not handle entries from professionals. You are encouraged to enter via the PGA website:

Murray Region Open
TBA: Pro-Am and Practice
TBA: Murray Region Open Rd 1
TBA: Murray Region Open Rd 2

Due to the ongoing uncertainty of the COVID-19 crisis unfolding across the State, Golf NSW in consultation with the PGA and the host course has elected to postpone the Murray regional Open to a later date.

The Murray Region Open will be held at Murray Downs Golf & Country Club,  just north of the border town of Swan Hill. Rated the number one golf course on the Murray River, and coming in at #47 on the list of Australia’s best courses, Murray Downs is a challenge par-72 layout that will test the game’s best players.

South Coast Open – Moruya
Sep 26: Pro-Am and Practice
Sep 27: Sth Coast Open – Moruya Rd 1
Sep 28: Sth Coast Open – Moruya Rd 2

Moruya Golf Club will host the inaugural South Coast Open.  Nestled in the heart of the Eurobodalla, The Par-71 course is regarded as one of the best courses on the Far South Coast of NSW.

Queanbeyan Open
Sep 29: Pro-Am and Practice
Sep 30: Queanbeyan Open Rd 1
Oct 1: Queanbeyan Open Rd 2

Queanbeyan Golf Club will host the third event of the NSW Regional Open Series. Host site of the 2019 Women’s NSW Open and a popular stop on the state’s Pro-AM circuit, the par 70 layout boasts some of the best greens in the ACT-Monaro region.

Dubbo Region Open
Oct 22: Dubbo Pro-Am and Practice
Oct 23: Dubbo Open Rd 1
Oct 24: Dubbo Open Rd 2

Dubbo Golf Club will be the setting for event four of the NSW Regional Open Series in October. Located in the State’s central west. The demanding course proved itself worthy of hosting high-level pro golf when Sweden’s Julia Engstrom lifted the Worrell’s Women’s NSW Open trophy in March 2020.

Yeoval local Aaron Wilkin returned to his childhood home to lift the Dubbo Regional Open Trophy earlier this year and will be back to defend his crown.

Tweed Coast Open
Nov 15: Pro-Am and Practice
Nov 16: Tweed Coast Open Rd 1
Nov 17: Tweed Coast Open Rd 2

Coolangatta – Tweed Heads Golf Club, on the State’s northern border is no stranger to hosting professional golf events. Plenty of great golfers have played and won around here including Greg Norman, David Graham, Graham Marsh, Arnold Palmer, Bernhard Langer, Payne Stewart, Tom Kite and the great Norman Von Nida.

Geoff King Motors – Nth Coast Open
Dec 13: Coffs Hbr Pro-Am and Practice
Dec 14: North Coast Open Rd 1
Dec 15: North Coast Open Rd 2

Coffs Harbour Golf Club will host the time-honoured North Coast Open. Dating back to the early 1950s, the North Coast Open boasts an honour roll that includes some of the greats of Australian golf including Kel Nagle, Frank Phillips and Billy Dunk. South African Gary Player has also tasted victory in the North Coast Open

Geoff King Motors North Coast Open
2020: Anthony Quayle (Qld)

Tweed Coast Open
2020: Abandoned

Murray Region Open
2021: Joshua Armstrong (ACT)

Dubbo Region Open
2021: Aaron Wilkin (QLD)

Queanbeyan Open
2021: Deyen Lawson(Qld)

South Coast Open
2021: Rick Kulacz (WA)


Event Contact