Eric Apperly Shield

Tournament Date

July – August 2020



Tournament Info

Past Tournament Links

Amateur Golf Links

Due to the impact of COVID-19 and restrictions around outdoor social gatherings and group sizes, Golf NSW will make the decision on whether to play or cancel the upcoming 2020 Eric Apperly Shield competition by Friday 26th June based on restrictions from the NSW Government and Health Department at that point in time. 

First contested in 1952, the Eric Apperly Shield is an inter-club and district teams competition open to metropolitan & regional clubs.

Representative DGA teams who are affiliated with Golf NSW are also eligible to compete.

Played from July to September, the competition is for female & male golfers who are 21 years of age & under.

Named after one of NSW Golf’s pioneering greats, The Eric Apperly Shield is considered the State’s pre-eminent inter-club competition for elite junior Golf

The format sees two teams consisting of six individual matches compete over 18 holes of matchplay without the benefit of handicap.

Teams are initially pooled into groups for the home & away phase of the competition.

The winners of each pool progress through to the finals which are played in a knockout format.

Honour Roll: The Eric Apperly Shield

2019 St. Michael’s
2018 Concord
2017 Bonnie Doon
2016 Pymble
2015 Concord
2014 St. Michael’s
2013 St. Michael’s
2012 The Australian
2011 New South Wales
2011 St.Michael’s (b) 
2010 The Australian
2009 New South Wales
2008 New South Wales
2007 New South Wales
2006 Bankstown
2005 Cronulla
2004 Cronulla
2003 Not Played
2002 Pymble
2001 Cronulla
2000 Cronulla
1999 Castle Hill
1998 Cronulla
1997 Bonnie Doon
1996 Cumberland
1995 The Lakes
1994 Port Kembla
1993 The Lakes
1992 The Lakes
1991 Kogarah
1990 Castel Hill
1989 Orange
1988 Monash
1987 Castle Hill
1986 The Lakes
1985 Castle Hill
1984 The Australian
1983 The Lakes
1982 Cumberland
1981 Strathfield
1980 Ashlar
1979 Manly
1978 St. Michael’s
1977 Castle Hill
1976 The Lakes
1975 Asquith
1974 Asquith
1973 Moore Park
1972 Muirfield
1971 Muirfield
1970 St. Michael’s
1969 Not Played
1968 Pymble
1967 Bonnie Doon
1966 The Lakes
1965 Avonddale
1964 Moore Park
1963 Cronulla
1962 Ryde-Parramatta
1961 Pymble
1960 The Australian
1959 New South Wales
1958 Kogarah
1957 The Lakes
1956 The Lakes
1955 St. Michael’s
1954 Last. Michael’s
1953 St. Michael’s
1952 St. Michael’s

Related Articles

Social Sharing - #EricApperly

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email